S.A.F.E. (Self-Defense Awareness & Familiarization Exchange)

SAFE LOGO cropped

The S.A.F.E. (Self-Defense Awareness and familiarization Exchange) program is taught by a nationally certified instructor who is dedicated to help members of our community become more aware of and better familiar with basic self-defense concepts. The course is a 2-hour class geared toward adult and teenage women. The class starts with a short introduction video, then progresses into a one and a half hour physical self-defense familiarization presentation.

The class is free, but enrollment is limited to ensure the highest level of quality instruction. Here is the current schedule for the 2018 year.

2018 Schedule:

Monday, February 12, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, March 29, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Monday, April 30, 2018  / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Monday, May 14, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, June 20, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 27, 2018  / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018 / 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

All classes will be held at the UFPD – Community Services Division classroom (Building 596). The UFPD is located at the corner of Museum Road and Newell Drive.

To register, please email the Program Coordinator, Officer Susan Pratt, at spratt@ufl.edu. Please provide your name, email address, phone number, and which class dates you would like to attend.